Fratello Coffee – Preview of early 2012 Coffees

4 Jan

My main contact at Fratello is Russ Prefontaine or @FratelloCoffee2 on the twitter machine. From time to time, Russ will get in contact with to send out some coffees for feedback. It’s a pretty fantastic process and dialogue.

Once the package arrived, I opened everything up and took a photo. Inside were two coffees:

Colombia "Alvaro Losada" and Costa Rican "Miguel Rojas"

Costa Rican "Miguel Rojas" and Colombia "Alvaro Losada"

Included were two Direct Trade Micro lots. A Costa Rican “Miguel Rojas”, and Colombian “Alvaro Losada”. Both coffees will be getting separate and in-depth analysis, which will be posted over the next week.

Here is a quick video detailing the two coffees once I opened them and cupped them:

All for now!
.Matt

6 Responses to “Fratello Coffee – Preview of early 2012 Coffees”

  1. Pauline January 5, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

    Hey Matt! Wish I could get someone to send me some great coffee like that for free… I’m so jealous…

    • MattCReynolds January 5, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

      Hey Pauline,
      Running this site is a substantial amount of work.
      I often spend days and countless hours working with the coffees sent, combining my thoughts, shooting photo and video, and compiling a review.

      I do not get paid to do this… instead it is entirely my own project. I do this to help consumers, roasters, as well as expand my own palate and help the overall industry.

      Thanks for your comment,
      .Matt

  2. cuplatte January 11, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

    Hi Matt,
    have you ever try Civet/Luwak Arabica Coffee? well it’s known as the most expensive coffee beans
    Here in Indonesia, there’s lot of brands and don’t know the genuine one.
    hoping you could make a review of it.
    thanks

    • MattCReynolds January 11, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

      Hello,

      Thanks for your comment. However, I do not support this type of coffee…
      There are many reasons why I’m against animal usage for processing coffee, I won’t go into it here.

      You should do some more research into the product. I believe there are much better and more humane ways to process coffee.
      There are other websites where you can see reviews, I will not be one of those participating.

      Sorry, and thanks again for your comments!
      .Matt

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fratello Coffee – Costa Rican “Miguel Rojas” « Coffee Folk - January 10, 2012

    […] perhaps a hint at what the guys at Fratello will be up to in 2012. I’ve already posted a preview of the two coffees they sent us with some video. You should go and check that out if you haven’t […]

  2. Fratello Coffee – Colombian “Alvaro Losada” « Coffee Folk - February 13, 2012

    […] perhaps a hint at what the guys at Fratello will be up to in 2012. I’ve already posted a preview of the two coffees they sent us with some video, as well as my thoughts on the first coffee I […]

Leave a Reply

