Clever Coffee Dripper: Brewing 101

24 Oct

On this website I spend a lot of time discussing and working on espresso coffees, as well as the espresso brewing process.

After some thought, I finally decided to talk about one of my favourite methods of brewing filter coffees: the “Clever Dripper”. It is a relatively inexpensive brewing device that produces a really clean, crisp cup of coffee.

This is an in depth look at the device, and the brewing principles behind it. [NOTE: I absolutely do not work for/with Clever and am in no way affiliated with them!]

Coffee: Phil & Sebastian Ethiopia Sidama “Suke Quto”
Grind Size: medium filter grind
Weight: 19.0 grams of coffee
Water: 345.0 grams or 345mL

Any comments or concerns can be left in the comments.

If you wish to use this video, please credit Coffee Folk and link back to the site. I’d also love if you emailed me where you featured it so I can check out your site as well.

I hope this helps people understand and use the Clever, and moves towards a standardized brewing method for the device.

Thanks and happy brewing!

.Matt

7 Responses to “Clever Coffee Dripper: Brewing 101”

  1. Jamie October 24, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    Nice video, Matt. I’ll have to check this method out later today. Question on your water… How much are you using for this method? I don’t think I saw it anywhere in the video.

  2. MattCReynolds October 24, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    19 grams of ground coffee to ~350grams water.
    We use 19.0 grams to 345.0 grams at the shop with scales.

    • Jamie October 24, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

      You’ve peaked my curiosity. I’m using 24/340g on a coarse grind and between a 45sec-1min brewing time.

      About to go compare your method to mine with some Ruthagati.

  3. Will Lam (@will_lam) November 3, 2011 at 1:55 am #

    Great video Matt. I’ve heard of the Clever coffee dripper from a friend years ago – very interested in playing around with this once I pick one up!

  4. espressosnob November 28, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    I know many have switched to filling the Clever first with your prescribed amount of water water and then adding your coffee grinds after, stirring to make sure they are adequately immersed and wet.

    • MattCReynolds November 28, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

      Heat loss could be a problem there. Generally, the less time water/coffee is exposed to air cooling down, the better.

      However, that is reminiscent of how a syphon is brewed: bring water to temp and add coffee.
      Interesting, I’ll have to try it out in the coming weeks.

  5. George Byzewski April 6, 2013 at 7:53 am #

    Hello Matt,

    Where can a guy get one of these Drippers? I love the concept. I double pour with my cone filters great idea. I’ve been roasting, grinding& double dripping since the late 70’s.

    Great Blog. Thank you for the effort.

    George Byzewski

Leave a Reply

